Killing My Praise

Has something that you see all the time ever caught your attention in a new way? The beauty of your wife’s face? The message hidden below the surface of your favorite movie? That stop sign at the end of your street that you always roll through until the morning when a police car is sitting on the cross street?

Me too. It happened to me today.

Throughout the Bible there is a phrase repeated over and over (or something like it):

Sacrifice of Praise.

Sometimes it’s called a “thanks offering,” or it may be put in other words. Because I’ve spent so much time in church, it is natural to breeze by these lines and think of Sunday gatherings. But today the question hit me:

When was the last time I sacrificed my own praise?

At this moment, I’m not talking about being the giver of praise to God, so much as being the sacrificing of people’s praises that are directed to me. Take a look at the verse that got my wheels turnin’ for more context:

Hebrews 13:15 Through Jesus, therefore, let us continually offer to God a sacrifice of Praise – the fruit of lips that confess his name.

When we confess Jesus as our savior, part of that is sacrificing our praise. It is so easy to come across as boastful, prideful, arrogant. While Paul does talk about boasting in Christ, I fear that too often we (or maybe I am the only one) boast in ourselves and try to cloak it in spirituality.

When someone praises you, do you sacrifice that praise and turn the focus on God?

Are we people who actually believe he is responsible for “every good thing?”

I mean really?

You will probably be praised for something today.

Let’s sacrifice that praise to the sustainer of life.

2 thoughts on “Killing My Praise

What do you think?

